Tag Archive for 'awards'

Carolina Photojournalism Students Take Home NPPA Multimedia Awards

The National Press Photographers Association’s monthly multimedia competition winners for September were recently announced and several CPJ students garnered top honors. Carolina Photojournalism’s recent multimedia project on the aftermath of the 2004 tsunami in the Phang Nga province of Thailand, Andaman Rising,” was awarded first place in the multimedia project category. In addition, three stories from the project were also awarded in their respective categories. Congratulations to all the students involved. Here is a breakdown of all the CPJ award winners.

CPJ Documentary “On the Line” Brings Home More Awards

Carolina Photojournalism’s documentary project On the Line has been awarded honorable mention honors for Best Multimedia Package in the 2008 Best of Photojournalism contest held by the National Press Photographer’s Association. On the Line is a collection of multimedia narratives that examine the different faces of economic hardship in the state of North Carolina.

The Best of Photojournalism competition, now in its seventh year, is one of the most prestigious and competitive contests in the industry; so congratulations to all the students involved in this wonderful piece of multimedia storytelling: Julia Barker, Kate Lord, Joanne McVerry, Susannah Ray, Maggie Sartin, Traci White, Melissa Williamson, Chris Carmichael, Galen Clarke, Beth Ely, Miranda Harple, Ricky Leung, Kelly Marks, Jonathan Stotts and Crystal Street.

Click here to read the judges comments and view other winners.

photo by Crystal Street

CPJ Students Take Home CPOY, SND Awards


The 62nd College Photographer of the Year awards were announced recently and we’re proud that, once again, UNC students were among the list of winners. This year 10,645 still images and 122 multimedia projects were entered in the contest by 461 student photographers from 88 colleges and universities in 10 different countries. Congratulations to all the winners.

  • Crystal Street – Gold, Individual Still/Audio Story or Essay for The Mac
  • Ricky Leung – Bronze, Individual Still/Audio Story or Essay for Lennie Edwards: A New Future
  • Smoky Mountain StoriesSilver, Multimedia Project (Pat Davison, Jason Arthurs, Nathan Clendenin, Melissa Lyttle, Gary O’brien, Scott Sharpe, Tracey Trumbull, Chris Carmichael, Miranda Harple, Kat Kogue, Kent Kessinger, Ricky Leung, Joanne McVerry, Abby Metty, Allie Mullin, Courtney Potter, Logan Price, Maggie Sartin, Sabrina Short, Jenny Tenney, Traci White, Jonathan Stotts)
  • On the LineAward of Excellence, Multimedia Project (Pat Davison, Galen Clarke, Julia Barker, Kate Lord, Paige Lucas, Edythe McNamee, Joanne E. McVerry, Susannah Ray, Maggie Sartin, Crystal Street, Traci White, Melissa Williamson, Chris Carmichael, Beth Ely, Miranda Harpie, Ricky Leung, Jonathan Stotts, Kelly Marks)

Both Smoky Mountain Stories and On the Line were also awarded SNDies, a Silver and Bronze respectively, by the Society for News Design. Thanks to all the judges.