Tag Archive for 'CPJW'

“Under One Roof” Featured on Multimedia Site The37thFrame.org

The37thFrame.org, not to be confused with our annual photography contest of the same name, recently featured “Under One Roof” on their Web site. Like Multimedia Shooter and Interactive Narratives, the 37th Frame culls the Web for great multimedia journalism and then aggregates it for our viewing pleasure. Bookmark it.

“Under One Roof” is the story of Ricky and Kristy Dunlap, who, in January 2008, lost their home to foreclosure. Recently, the family of six was joined by Kristy‚Äôs brother Randy, his wife Heather and their three children. All 11 share a 1,008-square-foot double-wide trailer in Shallotte, North Carolina. Link directly to the story.

Photo by Chris Carmichael

CPJW at Ocean Isle Beach Featured in Sun News Video

Carolina Photojournalism Workshop #5 at Ocean Isle Beach is officially over! This year’s workshop lasted seven days and included 23 students, making it the largest workshop to date. The stories were more diverse than in years past and the site design looks beautiful thanks to our two brilliant programmers, Seth Moser-Katz and Emily Merwin. We will be announcing the launch of the CPJW Ocean Isle site soon so keep your eyes peeled.

Until then, check out this great piece about the workshop and our very own Eileen Mignoni by Randall Hill of The Sun News. Special thanks goes to Randall for helping us put together this mix of stories.

Registration for 2008 CPJW at Ocean Isle Beach Now Open

Iconic “Chief” Henry Lambert Dies at 72

This November, “Chief” Henry Lambert died after a long battle with lung cancer. For more than five decades, Lambert posed for photographs with tourists at his roadside teepee in Cherokee, NC. To broaden his appeal with tourists, Lambert modeled his dress according to Hollywood stereotypes of Native Americans, donning full headdress, which is uncharacteristic of traditional Cherokee attire. But the job allowed him to support his family and he says he loved it. In his interactions with patrons, he became aware of the misconceptions that tourists held about Cherokee life, and, in his own way, became an ambassador for the tribe.

“I believe anyone ought to learn the heritage and keep it alive,” Lambert told Carolina Photojournalism last year. “In fact, I encourage all my kids and grandkids to learn about it. I’m sorry I don’t know most of it. If I could go back, I would learn the language in a heartbeat.”

Even as his health began to deteriorate, Lambert said he looked forward to work and couldn’t imagine quitting.

“I am proud of what I am. I am proud of what I do.”

Photos and audio by Courtney Potter

From Smoky Mountain Stories, 2007

CPJ Students Take Home CPOY, SND Awards


The 62nd College Photographer of the Year awards were announced recently and we’re proud that, once again, UNC students were among the list of winners. This year 10,645 still images and 122 multimedia projects were entered in the contest by 461 student photographers from 88 colleges and universities in 10 different countries. Congratulations to all the winners.

  • Crystal Street – Gold, Individual Still/Audio Story or Essay for The Mac
  • Ricky Leung – Bronze, Individual Still/Audio Story or Essay for Lennie Edwards: A New Future
  • Smoky Mountain StoriesSilver, Multimedia Project (Pat Davison, Jason Arthurs, Nathan Clendenin, Melissa Lyttle, Gary O’brien, Scott Sharpe, Tracey Trumbull, Chris Carmichael, Miranda Harple, Kat Kogue, Kent Kessinger, Ricky Leung, Joanne McVerry, Abby Metty, Allie Mullin, Courtney Potter, Logan Price, Maggie Sartin, Sabrina Short, Jenny Tenney, Traci White, Jonathan Stotts)
  • On the LineAward of Excellence, Multimedia Project (Pat Davison, Galen Clarke, Julia Barker, Kate Lord, Paige Lucas, Edythe McNamee, Joanne E. McVerry, Susannah Ray, Maggie Sartin, Crystal Street, Traci White, Melissa Williamson, Chris Carmichael, Beth Ely, Miranda Harpie, Ricky Leung, Jonathan Stotts, Kelly Marks)

Both Smoky Mountain Stories and On the Line were also awarded SNDies, a Silver and Bronze respectively, by the Society for News Design. Thanks to all the judges.