Tag Archive for 'CPOY'

CPJ Students Take Home CPOY, SND Awards


The 62nd College Photographer of the Year awards were announced recently and we’re proud that, once again, UNC students were among the list of winners. This year 10,645 still images and 122 multimedia projects were entered in the contest by 461 student photographers from 88 colleges and universities in 10 different countries. Congratulations to all the winners.

  • Crystal Street – Gold, Individual Still/Audio Story or Essay for The Mac
  • Ricky Leung – Bronze, Individual Still/Audio Story or Essay for Lennie Edwards: A New Future
  • Smoky Mountain StoriesSilver, Multimedia Project (Pat Davison, Jason Arthurs, Nathan Clendenin, Melissa Lyttle, Gary O’brien, Scott Sharpe, Tracey Trumbull, Chris Carmichael, Miranda Harple, Kat Kogue, Kent Kessinger, Ricky Leung, Joanne McVerry, Abby Metty, Allie Mullin, Courtney Potter, Logan Price, Maggie Sartin, Sabrina Short, Jenny Tenney, Traci White, Jonathan Stotts)
  • On the LineAward of Excellence, Multimedia Project (Pat Davison, Galen Clarke, Julia Barker, Kate Lord, Paige Lucas, Edythe McNamee, Joanne E. McVerry, Susannah Ray, Maggie Sartin, Crystal Street, Traci White, Melissa Williamson, Chris Carmichael, Beth Ely, Miranda Harpie, Ricky Leung, Jonathan Stotts, Kelly Marks)

Both Smoky Mountain Stories and On the Line were also awarded SNDies, a Silver and Bronze respectively, by the Society for News Design. Thanks to all the judges.